16.11.11

Barcelona Calling by Jane Kirkpatrick




Blurp from Goodreads:

From bestselling author Jane Kirkpatrick comes this relational story about a close-knit group of five women and their pursuit of life goals. You'll be encouraged and entertained!
In the tradition of Neta Jackson's Yada Yada Prayer Group series, Kirkpatrick invites you into the lives of five women friends who promise to help each other achieve their life goals. Annie Shaw's goal is far from simple: become famous. But she's in trouble after quitting her day job to write full-time. Her second novel tanked, and her new editor wants her to re-write the ending of her latest work to ensure this one is more successful. In order to pursue fame and an elusive bestseller, Annie travels to Chicago, acquires a rambunctious dog, and participates in antics better suited to a television reality show than real life.
Can Annie's best friends help her achieve her goals without destroying her future?
Award-winning author Jane Kirkpatrick, known for her superb historical novels, writes this bold, fresh, contemporary story she always threatened she'd one day 'put down on paper to make people laugh and consider the true treasures of their hearts.'



So, this book is mainly about an author. A female author of light romance novels with very low self-esteem and a group of also female friends who love her and want to help her. 
It portrayes her struggles during the editing of her latest book, her ambitions of seeing it promoted by Oprah Whinfrey, and her coming to grips with the past. She is divorced, and quite scared of taking the next step into love. There is quite a bit of romance in this book, as well as a comedy of errors.

I really enjoyed being inside the heroine's head, especially as I am a writer myself. I believe anyone would be interested, though, since the whole point of the story is is finding yourself, your voice, and deciding what kind of life you want to live. I loved the romance, it was subtle at first, althought there were sparks flying all over the place by the end of the book. I really like, as I have mentioned in other reviews, a book that has a surprise for the reader at the end, and this was one such book. The surprise was brilliant, and it was as if it made all the pieces of the story click in place. 

The only thing that bothered me with this book was the mention of Oprah in every page -and several times, in some pages. Of course, I understand that this was a major plot point, the author's ambition to get her book on Oprah's show, or on her book club, or something, but it got boring and weird after the first two chapters or so. That was the main drawback for this book for me.

Also, it is not Christian fiction, although categorized as such. There are a couple of verses thrown in as quotes, but God plays no part whatsoever in the lives of the characters. That disappointed me a little, but if I had to rate this book as a secular book, I'd say it was a good one. 

I received this book from Zondervan, in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 3/5

Share on Tumblr

No comments:

books